

11

Special Issue September 1, 2001

Masquerade Winners

Workmanship Awards Young Fan

Best in Class: "Bubbles the Magic Baby Dragon"

Novice

Excellence in Hairpiece Construction: Vir Cotto

Attention to Detail - Recreation:

"Sailor Mini-Moon (Rini)"

Best in Class: "A Little Romance" Journeyman

Most Creative Use of Materials: "Full Circle"

Best In Class: "Cash Conscious Couture – Fashion for the Money Minded"

Master

Creativity and Attention to Detail: "Carnevale on Mars"

Excellence in Beadwork:

"Pre-Emptive Strike"

Special Award for Design and Construction of Collars:

"Matsuri no Shinda"

Engineering Excellence Award:

"Seeking Hope"

Best In Class: "Kitsune"

Best In Show (all classes)

For the Dragon: "The H-Mercs"

Presentation Awards Junior

Best Use of Duct Tape: "Stage Crew: The Next Generation", presented by Joseph Meltzer, created by Loris Meltzer & Morris Keesan

Best Swashbuckling: "D'Artagnan: The Early Years", presented by Robert Meisner, created by Jay Meisner

Best Beast: "Bubbles the Magic Baby Dragon", presented and created by Mellisa Knappenberger

Best Historical: "A Renaissance Lady", presented and created by Rachel Willeg **Best Recreation:** "Sailor Mini-Moon", presented by Ariel Sheridan, created by Wendy Sheridan

Adult Novice Class

Honorable Mention: "Pandora's Box", presented by Celia Foo-Foo Ashton and Robert D. Ashton, created by Robert D. Ashton

Most Humorous: "Mascot", presented by Joni Brill Dashoff and Judy Bemis, created by Jared Dashoff

Best Recreation: "Vir Kotto", presented by Paul Dellechiaie, created by Kitty Kitik **Most Original:** "Couture by the Numismatic Society", presented by Rebecca Morris and Jake Swank, created by Rebecca Morris

Best in Class: "A Little Romance", presented by Alison Moran and April Korbel, created by April Korbel and Michael Moran

Journeyman Class

Most Humorous: "Fairies Meeting in the Forest", presented by Kristin Honse, Carol Landley, Jim Landley, Rob Landley; created by Kristin Honse

Most Staggering: "The Sugar Plum Fairy – Off Season", presented by the Royal Society for the Advancement of Space Operetta, created by Eugenia Horne

Best Invasion: "The Empire vs The Brood", presented and created by Bill Ernoehazy, Gail Bondi, John Bondy-Ernoehazy, Steve Bartlett and Tina Beychok **Best in Class:** "Full Circle", presented and created by Gunther Anderson

Master Class

Honorable Mention: "Rocks-Anna, Queen of the Asteroid Belt", presented and created by Patricia Buard

Most Alluring: "Kitsune", presented by Jennie Faries and Mark Van Name, created by Jennie Faries

Best Choreography: "Carnevale on Mars", presented by Sue Barrett-Bullitt, Jim Bullitt, Sue Frank, Dave Howell, Lynn Kingsley, Marci Malinowycz, Greg Sardo and Julie Zetterberg; created by Betty Bigelow, Lynn Kingsley, Greg Sardo and Julie Zetterberg Most Elegant: "Matsuri no Shinda", presented and created by Pierre Pettinger and Sandy Pettinger

Best Transformation: "Seeking Hope", presented by Allan Kent, Bill Powers, Dina Flockhart, Don Eastlake, Ian Flockhart, Joyce Grace, Karen Purcell, Liz Manicatide, Nancy Shapiro, Pat Vandenberg, Phil Servita, Phillip Nathanson, Rich Fine, Stephanie Fine, Suford Lewis and Talis Thorndyke Love; created by Allan Kent, Barbara Flockhart, Dan Zimmerman, Deryl Burr, Dina Flockhart, Doug Ray, Ellen Kranzer, Ian Flockhart, Keshlam, Kristin Burger, Lois Mangan, Nancy Shapiro, Pat Vandenberg, Phillip Nathanson, Phyllis Collins, Rich Fine, Sandra Ryan, Sheila Oranch, Stephanie Fine, Suford Lewis, Susan Brown, Susan Kruger and Tracy Cornogg

Most Terrifying: "The H-Mercs", presented by Brian Healy, Jeannette Healy, Faith Baker, Rob Shugrue, Hans Bader, Misty and Michelle; created by Brian Healy

Best in Class: "Pre-Emptive Strike", presented by Diane Kovalcin, Laura Kovalcin and Lisa Ashton

Best in Show (all classes)

"Fridays at Ten", presented and created by Amanda Allen, Michael Atkinson, Tom Atkinson, Dan Corcoran, Deborah Feaster, Jeannette Holloman, Sharon Landrum, Ric Rader, Ron Robinson, Don Sakers, Ann Stephens and June Swords.

Masquerade Director Victoria Warren thanks everyone who made the Masquerade possible!

Millennium Philcon Art Show Awards

Best In Show

Bob Eggleton "Quimeartha's Dream 1 & 2"

Judges' Choice Awards

Rob Alexander "Atlantis" Lisa Ashton "Oyster Shell" Mike Conrad "Alien Attack!" Ed Cox "Snowshoe" Dan Dodson "Light and Starburst" Newton Ewell "Tree City" Marc Fishman "My Lover's Gone" "Zheng Zi Yi" Ric Frane

Donato Giancola "Gandalf" & "The Hobbit: Expulsion"

Dominic Harmon "Masks"

Jael "Floue"

Nancy Janda "Breath of Life"

Nancy Janda "Domestic Camouflage #1"

Tom Kidd Pencil Work

Johnna Klukas "Hall of the Mountain King"

Brad Kunkle "Wish"

Liz La Valley Body of work – Scrimshaw
Joy Marie Ledet "The Mourning of the Dwarves"
Gary Lippincott "Tom Kelly's Ghost"
Sue Manor "Rowan Lady" & "Green Man" bowls

"Gandalf" Petar Meseldzija Chris Moore "The Days of Perky Pat" "Kiss of Ages" James Odbert (Nybor) Michelle Parker "Til Death" Marilyn Pride "Platypus With Eggs" **Richard Powers** "Star Dancers II" "Fish Ladder II" Sheila Rayyan **Ruth Sanderson** "Sleeping Beauty" pair Sophia Kelly Shultz Needlework Lisa Snellings "Here Comes Santa Claus" **Nick Stathopoulos** "Dragon Study 1, 2, & 3" Hicaru Tanaka "Dance in Star Ocean" Body of work - Crabshell masks Ron Walotsky

"Journey's End"

Theresa Mather

James Wappel "Mars" drum Michael Whelan "Lumen 6.2" Paul Youll "Desolation Road" Stephen Youll "I, Robot" Stephen Youll "Terminal Café"

Chairman's Choice Award

Stephen Youll "Wom Planet"

Art Show Directors' Choice Awards

Barbara Higgins

Omar Rayyan "Felis Nocturnus"

Andrea Senchy

Stephen Hickman "Beyond the World's End"

Popular Choice Awards

Best Professional Artist

Lisa Snellings

Best Amateur Artist

Diane Kovalcin

The Kessel Run is the daily newsletter of the Millennium Philcon. Contributions for the newsletter may be dropped off at newsstand mailboxes or brought to the Newsletter office in PCC 302. This issue's managing editor was Michael Nelson. Other staff members included Sunday Abraham, Tom Beck, Cary Hoagland, Samuel Lubell, Mary Morman, Phillip Thorne, Jan van 't Ent, Keith Stokes, and Adam Tilghman. The Kessel Run masthead flag graphic was created by Julia Morgan-Scott. All material included in The Kessel Run is copyright © 2001. A Sentinel Monolith production. All rights reserved. Special Thanks to Patti Wells and Tom Whitmore.